Love Snooker

Championship League

The Championship League is a non-ranking snooker tournament introduced in 2008. The event was launched to provide additional competition and a qualifier to the Premier League Snooker.

In the event’s first two years, all the matches in the group stages were played best out of four, meaning that the matches could end in a draw as all the four frames were played, and the semi-finals and the final was best of five. However since the 2010 tournament all matches are now best of five.

There is no audience present while the tournament takes place and every match is only broadcasted through the Internet.

Since the introduction of the event in 2008 it has been held at the Crondon Park Golf Club in Stock, England.

This event is a non-ranking tournament with 25 professionals taking part to win entrance to that year’s Premier League Snooker and also prize money for every frame won, semi-finalists, runners-up, and winners of each group and competing in the winners group.

The competition runs over eight groups, each consisting of seven players. From the league stage of the first seven groups, the top four qualify for a play-off, the winner of which qualifies for the winners group.

The bottom two players of each league are eliminated and the remaining four moves to the next group, another three player join them until the seventh group.

The winners play in the final group with the overall winner earning their place in that year’s Premier League Snooker tournament.

The Championship league is still a relatively young event, however it has had many talented players perform there as it is seen as a stepping-stone for up and coming prospects.

The most notable winners for the Championship League are Judd Trump and Mark Selby, although no player has ever won the trophy on more than one occasion.

Previous Winners Championship League

  • 2008 – Joe Perry
  • 2009 – Judd Trump
  • 2010 – Marco Fu
  • 2011 – Matthew Stevens
  • 2012 – Ding Junhui
  • 2013 – Martin Gould

Martin Gould is the reigning Champions League winner after edging out Ali Carter 3-2 in 2013’s final.

  • World Championship
Recent Posts
  • Riga Open Preview
  • Aussie Open Preview
  • China B World Cup Champions
  • Australian Open Qualifiers Draw
Hand on heart
Upcoming Tournaments

19th Feb - 2nd March

3rd - 6th March

4th - 8th March

10th - 16th March

25th - 29th March

8th - 16th April

19th April - 5th May