Love Snooker

Players Tour Championship

The Players Tour Championship is a relatively new tournament, established in 2010. It is a snooker series consisting of 12 regular events and a final. The PTC is a minor ranking format, however the final is a ranking event.

Each event costs £100 to enter, with every event lasting three days and the main tour players gaining ranking points in the events. Should the event ever be oversubscribed the amateur player would compete in a qualifying event.

The inaugural series runs from late June, with six events at the World Snooker Academy in Sheffield, one in Gloucester and another five in mainland Europe, three of which are in Germany.

The finals in March include the best 24 players who have won the most money and have played in at least six events in Sheffield and across Europe. The winner of each event receives £10,000 with the winner of the final claiming the grand prize of £70,000.

From the 2012/13 season, the PTC was expanded. Three new events were created and held in Asia, while the number played in England was reduced to four

The Grand Final was also been altered to accommodate 32 players, which was previously 24. Each tournament winner from the Asian PTC’s and the top 4 players on the Asian order of merit qualify; with an additional player qualifying from the UK and European order of merit.

The Players Tour Championship is still a very fresh competition, however there has been a large amount of interest shown in the event and there is plenty of controversy surrounding it.

The controversy regards the involvement of ranking points within the tournament and the relatively low prize fund for each event. Many high profile snooker players such as Ronnie O’Sullivan, Stephen Maguire and John Higgins have vented their issues with these aspects.

Previous winners of Player Tour Championship Series Finals

  • 2010/11 – Shaun Murphy
  • 2011/12 – Stephen Lee
  • 2012/13 – Ding Junhui

Previous Order of Merit Winners

  • 2010/11 – Shaun Murphy
  • 2011/12 – Judd Trump
  • 2012/13 – Mark Selby

Ding Junhui is the current Players Tour Championship champion, having overcome a resurgent Neil Robertson in the final. Both finalists earned one event win in the series – Robertson taking the second European Tour event and Ding reigning victorious at the fifth.

Ding staged a stunning fightback from three frames down to earn the title, having reached the semi-finals and quarter-finals respectively in his previous two events.

  • World Championship
Recent Posts
  • Riga Open Preview
  • Aussie Open Preview
  • China B World Cup Champions
  • Australian Open Qualifiers Draw
Hand on heart
Upcoming Tournaments

19th Feb - 2nd March

3rd - 6th March

4th - 8th March

10th - 16th March

25th - 29th March

8th - 16th April

19th April - 5th May