Love Snooker

Six-Red World Championship

The Six-Red World Championship is a six-red Snooker tournament, played with the six coloured balls and, as the name suggests, just six red balls.

Forty-eight players are divided into eight double-elimination groups, with the top for from each group progressing into the knock-out stage.

The event was first held during the 2008/09 season and was won by Ricky Walden, who beat Stuart Bingham 8-3 in the final.

Tour veteran Jimmy White would win the event in its second year, defeating Barry Hawkins 8-6 while Walden was a losing finalist in 2010 as Mark Selby was victorious by eight frames to six.

Six-Red World Championship Previous Winners

  • 2008 – Ricky Walden
  • 2009 – Jimmy White
  • 2010 – Mark Selby
  • 2012 – Mark Davis

Mark Davis is the reigning Six-Red world champion, having beaten Shaun Murphy 8-4 in 2012’s final. Neither player dominated early on but, with the scores at 4-4, Davis switched into first gear with breaks of 59, 59 and 55 to seal the win.