Love Snooker

China Open

The China Open was created in 1997 under the name of the China International. The format was a non-ranking tournament for the top 16 players in the world and local players, in doing so becoming the first international snooker tournament in China.

In the following season the event changed to a ranking format and was held in March, only for the name to be changed again, this time to the China Open. The tournament was held in December during the same year of the previous competition.

Since the name change to the China Open, the tournament has been consistently scheduled in the snooker calendar apart from a two-year absence in 2003 and 2004.

The tournament currently takes place in the Beijing University Student Gymnasium, Haidian District, Beijing in late March to early April and is the last ranking event before the World Snooker Championships.

The format of the China Open is ranking, however when the event was revived in 2004-05, the three Chinese Players on tour were invited to play as wild-cards, rather than qualify the usual way.

Chinaman Ding Junhui was one of the wild cards and went on to win the whole tournament in his home country, however as he entered as a wild card he didn’t win the prize money or win his ranking points.

This event has seen some of the true modern greats of snooker throughout its 13 year history including Steve Davis, John Higgins, Jimmy White, Ronnie O’Sullivan, Mark Williams to name a few.

Mark Williams leads the record for most titles in this event with 3, although Ronnie O’Sullivan and Peter Ebdon closely follow him with two a piece.

Previous Winners

China International (non ranking)

  • 1997 – Steve Davis

China International (ranking)

  • 1999 – John Higgins

China Open (ranking)

  • 1999 – Ronnie O’Sullivan
  • 2000 – Ronnie O’Sullivan
  • 2002 – Mark Williams
  • 2005 – Ding Junhui
  • 2006 – Mark Williams
  • 2007 – Graeme Dott
  • 2008 – Stephen Maguire
  • 2009 – Peter Ebdon
  • 2010 – Mark Williams
  • 2011 – Judd Trump
  • 2012 – Peter Ebdon
  • 2013 – Neil Robertson
Australian Neil Robertson captured his first title of the 2012/13 season with a 10-6 win over world number one Mark Selby in 2013’s China Open.
                                                                                                                                                        The win was a welcome relief for Robertson, who had lost three other finals during 2012/13, including the Masters to his China Open conquest Selby.
                                                                                                                                            Robertson started the match well, building a 6-1 lead before the interval. Selby claimed the three successive frames after play resumed but the Thunder From Down Under was not to be denied a seventh ranking title as he stormed to the Asia’s biggest prize.
  • World Championship
Recent Posts
  • Riga Open Preview
  • Aussie Open Preview
  • China B World Cup Champions
  • Australian Open Qualifiers Draw
Hand on heart
Upcoming Tournaments

19th Feb - 2nd March

3rd - 6th March

4th - 8th March

10th - 16th March

25th - 29th March

8th - 16th April

19th April - 5th May