Love Snooker

Wuxi Classic

The Wuxi Classic is a professional ranking Snooker tournament, founded in 2008 and held in Wuxi, China.

Introduced during the 2008/09 season as the Jiangsu Classic, the event came about as a result of Snooker’s Asian revolution, before becoming the Wuxi Classic in 2010.

The tournament gained ranking status fpr the 2012/13 season and boasted prize money of £400,000 for competitors on the tour.

Wuxi Classic Previous Winners:

Jiangsu Classic (Non Ranking)

  • 2008 – Ding Junhui
  • 2009 – Mark Allen

Wuxi Classic (Non Ranking)

  • 2010 – Shaun Murphy
  • 2011 – Mark Selby

Wuxi Classic (Ranking)

  • 2012 – Ricky Walden

Ricky Walden made sure the Wuxi Classic was won by an Englishman for the third consecutive year as he beat Stuart Bingham 10-6 in the final.

Walden raced into a 9-1 lead but let Bingham back the game to make it 9-4, with the latter’s run featured a 147 break – the only player since Stephen Hendry and John Higgins to record a maximum break in a ranking final.

But Walden held his nerve and sealed the decisive frame to win only his second ranking title, after winning 2008’s Shanghai Masters.